Hawa Mahal

Hawa Mahal, the palace of winds, is a distinctive landmark in the heart of the pink city, Jaipur.

This five-storeyed pink sand-stone structure was built in 1799 AD during the reign of Maharaja Sawai Pratap Singh.

Designed in the form of Lord Krishna’s crown, Hawa Mahal is a very interesting historical monument.

Constructed with an aim to facilitate the ladies of the royal family, who had to observe strict ‘purdah’ (veil) system, to get a glimpse of the life, processions and festivities of the city without being seen, Hawa Mahal was honeycombed with 953 jharokhas (latticed windows) facing the street.

Unlike the exterior facade, the inner face of the building has absolutely no ornamentation and has basically passages and pillars.

Designed by architect Lal Chand Ustad, Hawa Mahal was dedicated to Lord Krishna and its each floor was called a ‘Mandir’.

The first floor, Sharad Mandir, is called so as this is where the autumn celebrations took place.

The second floor is called Ratan Mandir after the exquisite glasswork done on the walls here.

The third floor, Vichitra Mandir, was dedicated to the worship of Lord Krishna, while the fourth floor is called Prakash Mandir.

The monument is named so as it was designed meticulously in a manner so that the wind circulating through it would go cooler and stronger as it would rise up towards the fifth floor, the Hawa Mandir, after which the palace was named.


Hawa Mahal Timings:          09:30 AM to 04:30 PM (Saturdays to Thursdays)

Hawa Mahal Entry Fee:        For Indian Nationals: INR 10.00, For Foreign Nationals: INR 50.00


Fee for carrying video camera:       For Indian National: INR 20.00, For Foreign Nationals: INR 50.00



Popular Hill Destinations

Popular Sacred Destinations

Popular Beach Destinations

You are here: Home Rajasthan Jaipur Hawa Mahal